zallia: (Bella Ello)
[personal profile] zallia
Dang, everybody else is johnny-on-the-spot with their Christmas lists! I need to do mine too, but I have no heart behind it. I've got a slew of stuff on my Amazon wishlist but it's more of filling out collections or buying reminders to buy if on sale than actual must-have stuff. Plus, I'm actually working on clearing stuff OUT of my house. I do need the second volume of Absolute Sandman since I of course, put it off and now it's out of stock everywhere. D'oh.

If any of my cyberfriends wants to exchange gifts with me, will you let me know by replying to this? I'm not too good at guessing if I fall into the gift-exchange category, so bluntess will work fine. Feel free to also leave what kind of things are expected and either a specific wishlist or just generalities (ie, what size doll clothes, animals collected, etc). :D

I still can't believe it's the end of November! Geez! This whole year just disappeared!

And though this is not xmas-related, I have to share that I got pulled over on Friday!! My first time, driving the 3 blocks from my mom's house! And for what? Not signaling! Robert who drives with me often, will tell you that I am quite insane about people following traffic laws. Okay, so the street I travel on crosses an intersection and when it does, the continuation of it is about 10 feet over from where it had been. Woo, city planning. So you kind of have to turn the wheel a bit, but you're still going on the same street, so to me, that means I'm going straight. Because if I signal there, that should indicate that I'm turning onto the street that's crossing it and going fully left or right. Am I wrong? I haven't looked up the statute, but the cop didn't really put up any defense when I said this and just continued looking bored and distracted. Oh and I "seemed nervous". Gee, I wonder why?? Le sigh.

Date: 2009-11-23 10:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] wyrmis.livejournal.com
On the ticket: I agree with you based on how you describe it. You shouldn't have been stopped. Were you ticketed?

On Christmas: I haven't done any Christmas shopping yet. I don't plan on it. Well, I have some ideas for gifts brewing, but I don't know what they would be, per se. I guess I'll just wait and see.

Date: 2009-11-24 01:14 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kittyfufu.livejournal.com
okay, protective defense attorney mode --
first rule, don't volunteer any information - ever -- ask them why they stopped you (for anything) but don't give explanations -obviously be polite but being polite doesn't mean giving them help in showing your 'guilt' (you also never, agree to let them search you or your vehicle even if you know nothing is in it - its still your constitutional right to be free from unreasonable search and seizure)

second rule, never ever sign acknowledging guilt - no matter how guilty you might feel you are - they have to prove it - make the officer show up to court - most of these the cops either don't show or you can generally end up getting a warning even if they do show.

Finally - keep in mind officers can make mistakes and based on your description he appears to be under the misapprehension that you have to signal even if you stay on the same street - -- most times cops are stopping on these stupid things hoping to smell alcohol or to see something else suspicious - i.e. gee why are you nervous if your not a criminal

September 2013

S M T W T F S
123 4567
8910 1112 1314
1516 17 18192021
22232425262728
2930     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 04:37 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios